Commitment.

Kenneth Jordan
2 min readApr 19, 2021

--

/kəˈmitmənt/ — the state or quality of being dedicated to a cause, activity, etc.

Whether it be Tom Brady going to bed early every night, Kobe Bryant staying in the gym for hours practicing his mid range, or Malcolm X reading books until he can’t read anymore.

For you to be a great leader, you must commit.

This is something i’ve struggled with over the course of my life.

Today, for example.

My alarm went off at 5am for me to wake up and start my day.

I let the alarm go off for about 3 minutes, then I walked over to it, and changed the alarm to 5:30.

Just like that, I went back on my original commitment.

Some may say that is minor, or even that it doesn’t matter, but I know the significance.

Small habits turn into large ones.

If you don’t make your bed, that can end up in you choosing not to clean your room, which then snowballs into you not cleaning out your email, then before you know it, you’re behind at work.

Commit.

It takes discipline, it takes forward thinking, it takes awareness.

Whether it was never having a real girlfriend, never making an immediate decision when invited to hang out with friends, or taking forever to order food at a restaurant, i’ve always struggled with commitment.

It’s been tough for me to give up options, always.

For some reason, I have it in my mind that it’d be better for me to have options, then to not.

Is that true?

Depends.

Some successful people mention the quote “Plan B just distracts you from Plan A”.

I can see how that’d be true. If you have a backup plan then are you really fully invested in your original?

Starting today, I’m choosing to commit.

5am wakeup M-F, No dating apps until 12pm, stretch EVERY NIGHT.

These small commitments will turn into large ones.

I’ll get back on track.

I know I can do it.

--

--

Kenneth Jordan

Hi, my name is Kennth Jordan. I grew up as an athlete, but now that chapter is closed. I'm figuring out where to go from here. Join me on my journey.