Burn your Bridges.

Kenneth Jordan
2 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Dictionary.com defines “burning your bridges” as the following:

To eliminate any possibility of a retreat to a former position.

This morning, I realized that i’ve reached a point in my life that can be viewed as a fork in the road.

I look left and my friend just got engaged, I look right, and my friend is suddenly in a relationship.

Am I missing something?

Comparison has led me to feel lost over the past few days thinking that because I don’t have a partner, i’m doing something wrong.

This led to me re-downloading the dating apps and spending valuable time swiping left and right hoping to get lucky.

Is this who I am now?

Since when did I need to depend on a dating app to meet someone?

Yeah, I know COVID introduced you to loneliness and depression, but is this really how you want to spend your time KJ?

Romans 12:2 says:
“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

Do not be conformed to this world. Easy to say, difficult to act out.

What about the times I feel lonely? Downloading the dating apps always comforted me because it was as if I was putting myself out there without having to go out.

But is it really the best thing to do?

Am I searching for a partner because all my friends have partners?

Am I letting God take the lead on this or am I trying to force it myself?

These questions are currently on my mind.

I watched a Ted talk yesterday about boredom — the benefits of boredom to be exact.

Did you know most creative ideas are formed when we’re bored?

When bored, the brain starts to imagine, and ideas are formed.

I could easily be swiping on Hinge right now, but instead i’m writing an article. What else can I do when bored?

You see, i’ve finally figured out that when I felt lonely, or when I felt bored, running to the dating apps was an easy way to relieve this feeling. Boredom would quickly pass over, and all my free time would be filled.

It was a distraction.

I wasn’t as focused on my job, relationships, and goals.

What is the crutch in your life that is preventing you from being alone? Being bored? Being left with unfilled time?

Is it video games? Drugs? Social media?

Figure it out, remove it, and fill that space with something productive that aligns with who you want to become.

Watch how your life changes.

--

--

Kenneth Jordan

Hi, my name is Kennth Jordan. I grew up as an athlete, but now that chapter is closed. I'm figuring out where to go from here. Join me on my journey.